White Iced Celebration


The annual White Iced Celebration in early February is our signature event celebrating public education in Mesa County. It’s an evening to honor White Iced Award recipients and Outstanding Academic Growth Schools. This elegant event welcomes community members, D51 staff, friends of the D51 Foundation, and parents. The annual White Iced Celebration is always an inspiring event and loads of fun!

11th Annual
White Iced Celebration

Saturday, February 4, 2023 | 7:00pm | CMU Ballroom


Over 50 nominations were submitted for this year’s White Iced Award. The areas of focus were: 1) impacting academic growth and achievement; 2) contributing to community or school; and 3) showing leadership.


Diana Velasco            East Middle School

Jennifer Laase            Orchard Avenue Elementary

Jodee Cronk               Grand Junction High School

Megan Henry              Independence Academy

Sandra Patrick            Tope Elementary

Scott Hittle                   Mesa View Elementary

Lora Quesenberry      New Emerson Elementary



2023 Foundation Spotlight

Eric Nilsen, Retired D51 Director of Maintenance and Operations




The D51 Foundation worked with the D51 Assessment team to identify schools with outstanding academic growth. Their team used student growth and achievement data from DIBELS, NWEA, CMAS, PSAT, and SAT at available grade levels and available content areas.


Elementary Primary Reading (K-3) 

Dos Rios Elementary – Cinnamon Cain, Principal

Taylor Elementary – Vernann Raney & Mary Biagini, Principals


Elementary Intermediate Reading (4-5) 

Lincoln OM Elementary – Randy Foster, Principal

Loma Elementary – Nicole Wimsatt, Principal


Elementary Math 

Scenic Elementary – Ben Alexander, Principal

Chatfield Elementary – Dave McCall, Principal


Middle School Reading 

Mount Garfield Middle School – Nikki Johnston, Principal


Middle School Math 

Redlands Middle School – Jory Sorenson, Principal


High School PSAT 9

Fruita 8/9 – Jason Plantiko, Principal


High School PSAT 10

Palisade High School – Dan Bollinger, Principal


High School SAT 

Fruita Monument High School – Todd McClaskey, Principal


2023 D51 Foundation White Iced Celebration Sponsors

Celebration Sponsor- $10,000

FCI Constructors, Inc.

MBC Grand

Red Rock Auto Group

Premier Sponsor- $5,000

Alpine Bank

Anna Rickenbach Properties RE/MAX 4000, Inc.

BG+ co.

Falcon Plumbing and Heating


SCL Health/St. Mary’s Hospital/Intermountain Healthcare

United Healthcare

Legacy Sponsor- $3,000

Dynamic Program Management

Fisher’s Liquor

Grand Mesa Mechanical, Inc.

High Country Beverage


Home Loan Insurance

Humphrey RV

Monument Health

Rocky Mountain Health Plans: A United Healthcare Company

STA of Colorado

Timberline Bank

Champion Sponsor- $1,500

970 Medicare

Amy & Andy Mohler

ANB Bank

Asset Engineering Limited

Audio Visual Experts

Austin Civil Group, Inc.

B & B Electric, Inc.

Bank of Colorado

Bighorn Consulting Engineers, Inc.

Business Times

Central Distributing

Chamberlin Architects

Christi Reece Group

ColCal, Inc.

Colorado Mesa University

Community Hospital

DLR Group

Drs. Anne Nederveld and Robert Frazho

EC Electric Inc.

Ed Bozarth- Mark Miller Chevrolet & Buick

Elite Events

Enstrom Candies

Family Health West

Fidelity Mortgage

Grand Junction Regional Airport

Grand Valley Bank

Lindauer Dunn, Inc.


Mays Concrete, Inc.

Palisade Brewing Company

Pamela Blythe

Roper Music

Shaw Construction

Skyline Contracting, Inc.

Snob Entertainment

Superior Drywall, Inc.

The Daily Sentinel

Western Slope Iron & Supply, Inc.

Xcel Energy

Hero Sponsor- $500

Aaron Birch Family Dental

Angela and Bill Christensen

ASCO Masonry

Asphalt Specialists & Supply

Bechtel & Santo

Bonsai Design

Code Ninjas GJ


Current Solutions

Dan & Elise Prinster

Dr. Brian & Caitlin Hill

Dr. Randy & Tricia Roman

Dr. Raul & Aracely de Villegas-Decker

Dr. Teyen & Mrs. Michelle Shiao

Dr. Eric Toth

Dr. Mark & Jolie Griffin

Dr. Mike & Andreya Krieves

FCF Premium Finance LLP

Fidel’s Cocina & Bar

GJ Tech Center, LLC

Go-Fer Foods

Grand Junction Federal Credit Union

Grand Valley Auto Sales

Huddleston-Berry Engineering & Testing, LLC

Janice M. Burtis

Josh Thompson

Keira Bresnahan & Brad Feldhaus

Mr. T’s Repair & Sharpening

MRP- Tim & Christy Fry

Office Outfitters and Planners

Phyllis and Leonard Little

ProSpace Interiors, Inc.

Rolland Consulting Engineers

Ruby Canyon Dental Group

Shawn Carstensen Hays & Will Hays

Signature Homes of Colorado

S.U.R.E., LLC Real Estate

Taylor Fence Company